Adding a 80287 FPU to PCB...

For the ABC 286 and 386 series of Atari Business Computer.
Post Reply
Mr.Bacardi
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:32 pm
Contact:

Adding a 80287 FPU to PCB...

Post by Mr.Bacardi » Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:46 pm

My Atari PC4LC still has an empty FPU socket which needs to be filled. Anybody has a co-processor installed for the 286 series?
I got an 80287 with unknown condition, but as soon as I insert it I get "system halted" error message so I assume the FPU is faulty... :(
Anybody has experience with a working FPU for a 286/8Mhz system? Does it require to set any jumper on the board?

Cheers,
Mr.Bacardi

User avatar
AtariPC.net
Site Admin
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:36 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Adding a 80287 FPU to PCB...

Post by AtariPC.net » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:24 pm

I know with the 8088's a jumper is required to be set but I think in the case with the 286 there is no longer that requirement. In fact going over the PC4x and ABC schematics I have I can't seem to find any reference to any such jumper existing.

What clock speed is the 287 rated at?
AtariPC.net
Atari PC | IBM Compatible Series

Mr.Bacardi
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding a 80287 FPU to PCB...

Post by Mr.Bacardi » Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:50 am

80287 is 10Mhz (as this was the only one I could find on eBay at that time...). Let's see if I can get a 8Mhz version...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests